Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am hoping to get a post done for each chapter of this book without giving you so much information you won’t buy the book.  That will be a mean feat for me.  I recommend you buy the book here.

You will see the phrase “elephant in the room” often I am sure throughout however many posts this ends up being.  And being who I am here’s a standard definition of that:

Elephant in the room” is an English metaphorical idiom for an obvious truth that is being ignored or goes unaddressed. The idiomatic expression also applies to an obvious problem or risk no one wants to discuss.[1]It is based on the idea that an elephant in a room would be impossible to overlook; thus, people in the room who pretend the elephant is not there have chosen to avoid dealing with the looming big issue.

Now we all pretty much knew that don’t you think?  Well, if that is the case then why pray tell do we not ask the questions?  With that said there is only one who has all the answers and if you can’t see them on the surface of His Word shouldn’t that tell you, based on the concept of the elephant in the room, that there is an obvious truth you should be seeking or an obvious problem that begs an answer? One of the things Rabbi Fohrman has encouraged in me was to ask questions.  I can no longer surface read my Bible and try to gain my own understanding.  In reading the book I have realized that the Holy Spirit will reveal what I need to know when I need to know it.  That’s pretty simple and very, very plain to me now.  No matter how hard I study I won’t get it until it is His time to give it.  But I have to ask the questions! It is also very clear to me now that there truly is no such thing as a stupid question.

Chapter 1 addresses Adam & Eve in the garden and the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil and the questions that I would think we should have regarding this tree.  Rabbi Fohrman states: “….many biblical stories have their “elephant in the room,” an obvious, deeply troubling, “why didn’t I think of that” question at the heart of the story.” While reading and shaking my head yes, that’s true in acknowledgement of his statement, I continue on until this question arises in his writing – “Why would God want to deny this knowledge to people?”   Stop – slam the book closed – suck in air – ask myself the question “why didn’t I think of that” and prepare for having a teachable heart and mind.

Let me digress here for just a moment.  Those of you who know me know that I am a “digger”.  I love the Hebrew language and even though I have no proficiency whatsoever in it, it speaks to me.  I’m learning enough to help me although at a very slow pace.  I can’t explain the way it speaks to me other than through Hebrew my Bible has come to life in a way that is unexplainable.  Through Hebrew the beauty of the love of our God for us, the things He wants us to know, and the life He wants us to live make sense.  Don’t ask me to explain because like I said – I can’t. I just know the hunger it creates for God’s Word. As we go on through this book and these posts this paragraph will make a little more sense to you.  Back to the topic.

There was a transformation in the Garden of Eden.  A transformation of understanding.  Doesn’t that in itself beg a question?

Here is where I am having a hard time not overflowing and simply giving you all the questions that have now been raised and the answers that are clearly there.  Suffice it to say we end today with this question: “What would it mean to think about right and wrong in the world of Eden………?”   Pre-tree……..sigh.  Creates so many more questions. Many of you will say what does it matter?  Well, it does in order to understand if knowing right from wrong is an asset or a liability.  Think sociopath!

I encourage you to do as is suggested by Rabbi Fohrman and go back and read the story of Adam and Eve – no commentaries. Put aside your pre-concieved notions & the childhood story explanation you remember and then be honest with yourself.  Do you have questions? What doesn’t make sense? Is there an elephant in the room for you?

Popped over to Amazon to check out reviews (all of which are total 5 star on both books) for his second book.  Anxiously awaiting my copy of the next book!

Editorial review from Amazon on Rabbi Fohrman’s book on Esther: “The Queen You Thought You Knew”

To read Fohrman is akin to listening to a powerful symphony with that driving sense of inevitability.

One reviewers comment that is exactly how I would say it:

And the answers? One word for them. Satisfying. Answers that are connected down to the core, using the original words, drawing meaning carefully through reasoned analysis and connected to tradition.

