Tags

, , , , , , ,

Please refer to To quote my dear friend – I am Undone for the “beginning” of this journey.  For me this journey in many ways is another beginning; the beginning of understanding my own desire to understand.  What a mouthful LOL!  This journey has taken many shapes and forms.  Even to my ancestry with my great grandfathers last name being Eben.  Go figure!

Rabbi David Fohrman’s book “The Beast that Crouches at the Door” is and continues to be (as I am not done reading it yet) a fascinating, burn my hands while I am reading it kind of book.  I cannot begin to tell you how many times I have snapped this book closed because I am overwhelmed at what the Holy Spirit shows me as I read.  I have had moments of saying “it is too much, my brain cannot contain all of this”.  Let me interject at the very outset of this – it drives me to my Bible.  Oh and by the way, I am not afraid to say I study the Torah.  Torah is not a nasty word.  Let us get that clear too at the outset.  I am very tired of the whole Hebraic roots is heresy (some of it is, yes); mysticism is heresy (some of it is, yes); the law has been done away with arguments (I know Jesus came to fulfill the Law – do not yell at me).  I am tired of the Jew/Gentile battle arguments that rage on to this day.  Being a berean is my desire in whatever depth of seeking that takes me.  You choose what is yours.  Letting the Holy Spirit speak to me to give me discernment and wisdom is all I am after.  Nasty, negative comments will be deleted – period! You must buy the book and form your own opinions and/or desire to know more. The Beast that Crouches at the Door can be bought here.

Let us see shall we, as an example, how long this post will be based on a 3 page introduction. The title of this introduction “Beyond the Lullaby Effect: Reading the Bible with Open Eyes” was enough to have me on the floor laughing in light of my own personal opinion of some churches and believers today.  Ok – I am repenting now.

Understanding #1 came at this statement:  “The lullaby effect anesthetizes us through the stupefying effects of familiarity”.  Think about this……no really.  Think about this.  Here as an excerpt is how Rabbi Fohrman explains:

“Here’s how it works.  When was the last time you bothered thinking about the words of the lullabies you’ve known since childhood?  Stop for a moment and think – really think – about what their words actually mean.  For starters, try that perennial favorite, “Rock-a-bye baby on the treetop.” Imagine if your child were actually paying attention to the words you were singing:…”when the bough breaks, the cradle will fall, and down will come baby, cradle and all.”

Now, you can certainly get a kid to sleep by singing this.  But if your sweet child were actually listening to what you were singing, she’d be in for a rude awakening. Lots of questions, I imagine, would quickly come to mind. If we bothered listening, they would come to our mind too. “Exactly how far off the ground was the cradle when it fell?” “Did anyone call 911?” “Who put the cradle on the bough in the first place?” …….”Are you trying to get rid of me?”

But no one asks these questions”

My question is why do we not ask the questions? For me personally there is a bigger question.  Why do I want answers to these questions when so many others don’t or are afraid to ask? That question when answered in black and white print on a page in front of my face seems silly now.  “We needn’t fear these questions, for they are not really problems; they are opportunities.”

In 3 pages I discovered that for me the “elephant in the room” questions regarding Scripture were simply ok and that as Rabbi Fohrman says: “they are windows that the text gives us to perceive its deeper meaning”.  There it is folks.  In those few words are the hidden/revealed and mystery questions that lurk inside of us.  Questions we are uninterested enough to ask, afraid to ask for fear of looking incapable of understanding, or having heard the stories all our lives buried the questions somewhere because we think we already have that one figured out.  Or put simply – we have a surface acceptance of what we think we understand.

When we hear or read a new or different perspective (the word I choose to use) on a Bible story we sometimes say things like “I never heard it taught that way” or “that’s interesting” or “we don’t need to know a deeper meaning” when in all reality our whole being is crying out for wisdom and true understanding.  I am reminded of much of Proverbs 1.  Wisdom is active not complacent just as the Word of our God is alive.

Hellelujah!  It’s ok to ask the questions. The elephant in the room just got put on a diet.  Stay tuned as I go through this book and you the reader of this blog will (fortunately or unfortunately depending on how you look at it) will be the beneficiary of my exhalations.

