Tags

, , , , ,

I listened to the following clip a couple of times and realized something I had put on the back shelf.   The people want and Satan provided. I am aware of what the following verses say.  But like many other times in many other verses I surface read this.  I knew this! I know I knew this! Just didn’t get it enmeshed correctly in my brain until a short while ago.

2Ti 4:2  Preach the word! Be ready in season and out of season. Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching.
2Ti 4:3  For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers;
2Ti 4:4  and they will turn their ears away from the truth, and be turned aside to fables.

Do you remember the movie “What Women Want” with Mel Gibson?  I laughed my head off at that thing.  I’ve watched it several times as a matter of fact.  And yet it now has me thinking.  In this movie Mel Gibson supposedly gets the ability to “hear” the minds of women and therefore know what women want. He goes through several processes, including cross dressing, to attempt to understand and give them what he “hears”.  But what happens at the end?  Summed up in a nutshell, he returns to the truth/reality of what women want.  I’m not going to go off on a tangent about what that is.  Another time, another place for that.  The point is truth and what people want.

What I am going to do, is speak of how this relates to me today, at this moment.  I have many times and many ways ranted and raved about what comes out of some pulpits in our country today.  In short, I have blamed the Pastors/Teachers.  There is a deeper truth here and why this light bulb has not gone on for me before I do not know.  Well, it has I guess, but kind of like the new lights bulbs today.  Takes them a while to fully “glow”.

It is the people who are crying out for something less or different than the truth of Jesus Christ and His crucifixion. The truth of his burial and resurrection.  Many Pastors/Teachers are responding to that believing they will guide another soul towards salvation. I simply cannot come to the conclusion that all Pastors/Teachers are this way.  So to some I must extend grace.  It may even be that they truly don’t know any better.  Truth came to them in the same package they carry on to others.  I think that is called re-gifting.  LOL! Again, that’s not the point of this post.

The people want……………Why?  Is it because it is terribly hard for us to acknowledge our sin and even harder for us to truly repent?  Is it because we are apathetic and choose to just accept what is taught us and let it go at that?  Is it because we simply don’t think about God?  Is it because we are lazy (slothful) or too busy to read the Word of God and make every attempt to let the Holy Spirit give us revelation of it, wisdom and understanding of it, and yes even application of it?  De we even care?  Have we become so self oriented that we simply don’t care?  Have our ears suddenly become plugged?  What is it?  You will find that I don’t have the answers to these questions.  In fact, these questions create even more questions for me.

Now this is not to say that I don’t believe Pastors/teachers should not be held accountable.  That is not what I am saying at all.  After all, the Word tells us they are held to a higher standard.  That alone should be very frightening. But this post is about the “people want”.

What people want is a life full of ease, a life full of just living the Golden Rule (as was put to me simply a few moments ago), and life full of health, wealth, and prosperity:  no tight nylons (trials/temptations), makeup slathered on thickly (hiding behind a facade), no desire to comprehend the truth of what they hear (like Mel Gibson, it was all about him and what he could get). They want their ears tickled.  “…according to their own desires….and they will turn their ears away from the truth…”

And in this, we miss so much.  Jesus said, “He that hath ears to hear, LET HIM HEAR.”

