Tags

, , , , ,

Searching For God Knows What by Donald Miller was an interesting read I must say.  The title alone caught my attention because I believe we all walk searching for something.  He talks about formulas or walking through steps to your “Christianity” as being somehow simply wrong.  While I agree there are no certain “10 steps to being a whatever” that is a mold for every single human being, I have come to realize that there are steps that we take in our quest for godliness that we must put our feet on one day at a time.  Miller’s take on what we are searching for is sometimes humorous, sometimes right on the mark, and sometimes downright off the mark. The most valid point made in the entire book is on pages 12-13 where he states “The truth is there are a million steps, and we don’t even know what the steps are, and worse, at any given moment we may not be willing or even able to taken them; and still worse, they are different for you and me and they are always changing.”  This statement was made valid in my opinion because of the variety of what we all differently believe Christianity is.  The bottom line is there is a Bible which is the inspired Word of God.  The interpretation of this inspired Word is where these steps come in to play.  This entire book is one man’s testimony of the steps he walked through to get where he is today.  He claims there is no formula – but there is and he walked it.  This formula was designed specifically for him and him alone. Where he is in this walk, I cannot point my finger at.  At first impression I would claim this as “on the verge of Emergent”.  At second impression, I would say Donald Miller has a clear understanding of recognizing the importance of our relationship with Jesus Christ in our lives though with a sort of New Age understanding.  Until I got to the end of the book that is.  There I found the “formula” or “list”  (called a theory by Miller) in all its glory.  Good book, good read; but one man’s testimony  and one man’s (albeit he is a famous author)  idea of Christianity in all reality.  I recommend this book for reading by both believer and non-believer alike.  I do however believe it should be read by the believer with a discerning mind. The non-believer may find answers to questions they have asked themselves and find a starting point to dig into the Bible and all its beauty.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I receive the books I review free from Thomas Nelson Publishers  as part of their […] book review bloggers program. I am not required to write a positive review of any book. The opinions I express are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

