Tags

, ,

Do you remember this song by Deep Purple?  It was popular back in the late sixties and early seventies. Dates me doesn’t it?  Not the point.

Hush, Hush I hear her calling my name now.

Do you suppose this is what God says when we pray? Can’t you just see the visual?  God saying “Hush” my child is praying and I must hear her.  I can so see that.  As a mom I can remember many times telling one of my children to ‘hush’ because the other was trying to tell me something.  Makes me smile to think of it.  Here’s an excerpt from an article written by Jon Courson of SearchLight.  The link to the full article is at the bottom.  Enjoy!!

And when he had opened the seventh seal, there was silence in heaven about the space of half an hour. (Revelation 8:1)

“Commentator after commentator will tell you the silence in heaven of Revelation 8:1 is a mystery.  But I suggest to you our text indicates that as the prayers of the saints ascend before Him, it’s as though God says ‘Hush’.

To the living creatures who cry Holy, Holy, Holy, He says ‘Hush’

To the twenty-four elders who praise Him continually, He says ‘Hush’

To the thousands of angels who serve Him perpetually, He says ‘Hush’

–  Rendering heaven totally silent.

It’s as though God says, ‘At this moment in time, nothing else has My attention like this prayer being offered to me.  I don’t want to miss a single word.’

People spends thousands of dollars on psychiatrists, or months of waiting for a pastoral appointment – yet God gives His undivided, complete, total attention to the prayers of anyone going through tribulation or trouble.  The key is to pray………’

And another angel came and stood at the altar, having a golden censer; and there was given unto him much incense, that he should offer it with the prayers of all saints upon the golden altar which was before the throne. (Revelation 8:3)

‘The prayer which causes silence throughout heaven is mixed with much incense.  Throughout Scripture, incense speaks of intercession.  Hebrews 7:25 says that Jesus Christ, our Great High Priest, ever lives to make intercession for the saints.  In other words, the incense of Jesus’ intercession on our behalf sweetens our prayers.’

http://www.joncourson.com/raysoflight/thehushofheaven.asp

